True Confessions Tuesday

Greetings, friends.  I have a few things to get off my chest tonight.

1.  I bought no less than FIVE kinds of glitter nail polish on Saturday.  FIVE.  I very nearly bought the Justin Bieber one.  It was such a pretty purple!  I might be twelve.

2.  Speaking of The Biebs, he’s in the top 10 of my 25 Most Played on iTunes.  Shame…

3.  I super-love some seriously arrogant, semi-douchey men.  For reals.  Tony Soprano? Hot!  Jack Donaghy?  Rawr.  Don Draper?  Hold me back, people. 

What am I? A farmer?

 

4.  I am WAY emotionally invested in Dancing With the Stars.  It’s an issue.  I’ve cried a few times this season.  Cher’s wild applause and obvious pride while watching her son dance made me tear up.  JR’s story…enough said.  Coco Arquette’s joy when her daddy got good comments from the judges just about did me in.  I was awfully sad to see Carson go tonight.  It’s an emotional roller coaster, I tell you!

5.  I had two buttered scones for dinner.  Toasted coconut, almond and dark chocolate scones.  With real, salted butter.  According to my trainer, this is a HUGE no-no.  She’s trying in vain to eradicate carbs from my life.  God love her. 

I made these on Saturday afternoon, on a whim.  I bought a bag of coconut a while back for a German chocolate cake and I’m always looking for ways to use the rest.  I’d never made scones before and wanted to try so this was a nice two-birds-one-stone kind of thing.

I was awfully happy to see that while the recipe called for cold butter to be mixed into dry ingredients, I could just use my hands.  I still haven’t replaced my pastry cutter.  I’m still too bitter over the loss of my $3.00.

The recipe called for slivered almonds, but I couldn’t find any at the new Target grocery store (seriously?) and wasn’t willing to fight the Saturday morning grocery crowd anywhere else, so I decided to make do with the single package of Trader Joe’s Just a Handful of almonds that I had in my snack basket.  It worked.  I wouldn’t recommend hand-slivering almonds though.  It was tedious.  And dangerous.  Especially for someone as clumsy as me.  There was most certainly a moderate amount of risk of losing a fingertip.  Luckily, all of my phalanges are still intact.  AND – the dough came together beautifully.  Isn’t it pretty?

This dough?  Juuuust slightly sweet and so completely delicious!

Since I’m a fly by the seat of my pants girl, I don’t have a biscuit cutter.  Of course.  I think I did okay with a regular juice glass though, don’t you?

They baked up so warm and pretty and perfect that I couldn’t resist pulling one off of the baking stone right away and plopping on a liberal pat of butter.  I was not disappointed.

Somehow, I managed to limit myself to two warm scones.  I stacked them all nice and pretty on a plate so I could snap some pictures and then they went into the freezer to prevent breakfast bread gluttony.  This would be the only reason they were available for dinner consumption tonight.  I will try to ignore the rest for as long as possible.

Chocolate Coconut Almond Scones

Leave a comment