Birthday Cookies

It’s another GORGEOUS day here in St. Louis.  Sunny and 80 degrees.  Every time I took Brody outside, he did this rotten puppy routine that involved laying on the ground and going limp like a hippie at a protest rally every time I tried to get him to go back inside.  Or he’d just sit and give me this “What?” look, pretending he didn’t understand what I was saying.

I begged, I pleaded, I cajoled…nothing worked.  I tried explaining that I had cookies in the oven and I needed to get back inside so I could take them out, but he just didn’t care.  Eventually, Brody stood up to chase after a butterfly and I convinced him to come in and get a biscuit.

The cookies I was baking this morning are for my friend A.  Her birthday was Thursday.  I’m not a jerk for being late with the cookies – she works from home and only has to be in the office on Mondays.  I will be jealous of this forever.  Or at least until I get to work in my jammies from the comfort of my sunroom.  There’s currently no plan for my position to join that program, but it’s nice to have a dream.

Not only does A get to work without leaving her house, she’s got the cutest little boy EVER.  He’s the happiest kid I’ve ever seen in my life. He turned one back in August and I made these for his party:

Anyway, back to the cookies.  Bakery Style Cookies and Cream Cookies.  My friend Nic made these a while back and they were SO delicious. 

The cookies actually have crushed Oreo cookies in them!

Nic made her cookies in a muffin top pan and they were perfectly shaped and super pretty.  I had to make do with a plain ol’ cookie scoop.

They’re a little shaggy, but still completely, insanely tasty.

Ohhhh…glitter nail polish.  I love you so!  I love anything sparkly.  I’m kind of like a raccoon that way.  I’m even packing A’s cookies into a pretty, sparkly little gift bag. 

Those dots are shiny gold, not yellow.  Isn’t it cute?  Two for 99 cents at Target! 

Please excuse the weird white patch on the wall.  There was a weird corner shelf there when I moved in.  I think it was a cat perch.  It had to go.  The bruise colored walls have to go too.  Someday.

Netflix has season five of 30 Rock streaming, so I have some watching to do while I pretend I don’t have to work tomorrow.

Happy Late Birthday, A!  See you at the office!

Leave a Reply

